Tags

And this is Hughie on holidays. There’s a consistency in these dispatches, city-centre, forest-green, or windswept Atlantic seaboard. Nevertheless, he is funny, it seems to me, and makes some terrific hits on some worthy targets . . .

Letters to Lucy

Windrush House,
22nd July, 2013

I have spent the past week settling into my newly placid surroundings.  I am back in the countryside of my youth, which sounds very romantic, except that I hated my ‘youth’ and this countryside makes me think of rutting hogs trapped and copulating in a sewer.  How I detest the ‘idyllic’ noise of cows occasionally lowing.   And what’s worse, their moronic human peers, the frothing hicks with whom I went to school, with their stupid little toy JCBs now become even stupider life-size JCBs in which they happily bounce from field to barn and back to field again, smelling of silage, grimacing vacantly out at a bleak, familiar, world, to which however they haven’t the brain-power to think of any alternative.  The idiots.  Even those who haven’t seeped back into the life of their ‘ould fella’s farm’ haven’t been able to escape the stasis of…

View original post 1,323 more words

