Tags

, , , , ,

John Coltrane performing his version of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s ‘My Favorite Things’* in a television studio in Baden-Baden in Germany on 24 November 1961, which, indeed, is one of my favourite things.

John Coltrane on soprano sax
Eric Dolphy on flute
McCoy Tyner on piano
Steve Davis on bass
Elvin Jones on drums

*See below for the original Rodgers and Hammerstein version (with Julie Andrews)

Best known to most by way of the Hollywood movie with Julie Andrews, ‘My Favourite Things’ was a popular show tune in Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein’s 1959 hit The Sound of Music.

The original Broadway musical places this song in the Mother Abbess’s office, just before she sends Maria to serve Captain von Trapp’s family as governess to his seven children. However, Ernest Lehman, the screenwriter for the (1965) film, repositioned this song so that Maria would sing it with the children during the thunderstorm scene in her bedroom, replacing ‘The Lonely Goatherd’, which had originally been sung at this point. Many stage productions also make this change, shifting ‘The Lonely Goatherd’ to another scene.

See below for lyrics (in the event that you may want to sing along).

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles with warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites, when the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites, when the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

